07.07.2021

Junior Project Awards

On Tuesday, 6 July, the Junior Project Awards 2021 took place. This ceremony, which has been held annually since 2008, selects promising projects out of a pool of submissions, before a jury awards prizes to the very best applicants. To make this programme accessible to even more students, the format was changed at the beginning of the school year. For the very first time, the Junior Project Awards accepted submissions  from any secondary school student who wished to present their project to a jury and was ready to compete on a national level! 

Taking the students’ age difference into account, two distinct competitions were organised: 

  • A competition for pupils attending classes 7 to 5 (lower cycle) and
  • A competition for pupils attending classes 4 to 2 (upper cycle).

In total, 5 projects from the Lycée Aline Mayrisch were submitted for the lower cycle and 10 teams from three different high schools (ECG, ALR, LAML) competed in the upper cycle. The terms and conditions were the same for both age categories.

Managing a project in a professional way

The goal of this programme is to reward students’ initiatives, autonomy and project management skills, while celebrating their achievements and the fact that they successfully overcame challenges. Given that the ability to plan and manage a project effectively are one of the key skills required in any professional environment today, this programme provides young people the opportunity to experience and develop these soft skills.

In order to participate at the Junior Project Awards, the students had to compile and submit a complete dossier on their project and present it to an audience and a jury.

A jury impressed by the quality of the projects

A total of 4 jury members selected the projects from the lower and upper cycles. Victoria Woestmann, Allen & Overy and Laurent Derkum, Raiffeisen judged the lower cycle students. Elsa Ferreira Barbosa, UBS, and Marc Marchal, Lightbulb, judged the students who competed in the upper cycle.

In order to determine this year’s winners, the jury evaluated criteria such as creativity, originality and complexity of the project, presentation skills, cooperation amongst team members and communication.

In the upper cycle category, the three best teams were elected

The first prize was awarded to Team Biobagfy from Lycée Aline Mayrisch. Maurice Hoffmann, Tom Germeaux and Gregory Herbrig wanted to reduce the use of single-use plastic when buying fruit and vegetables and therefore marketed Veggie-Bags, small bags made of 100% recycled cotton and produced under Fairtrade conditions. The team was complimented for the originality and sustainability of their project.

The winners of the first prize, are invited to attend a concert of their choice at Rockhal in Esch. This prize is sponsored by Rockhal.

The second prize was awarded to Team Global Issues Network from the Lycée Aline Mayrisch. Lisa Schons, Soline Mambu, Bianca Harris, Lucy Reuter and Ana De Sousa Andrade wanted to refill their school’s solidarity fund and decided to organise a sale of second-hand clothes, which they collected from their classmates. The profit from their sustainable solidarity action went into the school’s solidarity fund, which supports students with financial difficulties. The young people were rewarded with a voucher for an escape room.

The third prize was awarded to Team Muffin aux Pommes from the École de Commerce et de Gestion. Clémence Delrieu, Luca Ganeto, Ivan Martino, Léane Parjouet and Lara Putz baked and sold 220 muffins made from a seasonal and locally-sourced ingredient: the apple! The young people will be able to celebrate their achievement playing Lasergame.

In the lower cycle, Lou Bodson, 12, from the Lycée Aline Mayrisch impressed the jury with her project “Gebees fir de gudden Zweck”. By selling homemade jam, Lou earned more than 1,000 €, which she donated to an orphanage in Namibia. Lou won a beautiful trophy and a board game.

07.07.2021

Junior Project Awards : Des projets caritatifs, créatifs et gourmands !

Le mardi, 6 juillet ont eu lieu les Junior Project Awards 2021. Ce projet, qui existe depuis 2008 et récompense les meilleurs projets soumis, a changé de format à la rentrée de cette année scolaire pour le rendre plus accessible. Ainsi le projet s’adresse désormais à tou-te-s les lycéen-ne-s souhaiant soumettre leur projet scolaire au concours !

Une initiative accessible à plusieurs publics et pour deux catégories d’âge !

Une compétition pour les élèves fréquentant les classes de 7e à 5e (cycle inférieur) et une compétition pour les élèves fréquentant les classes de 4e à 2e (cycle supérieur) a été organisée.

Au total 5 projets du Lycée Aline Mayrisch ont été soumis pour le cycle inférieur. 10 équipes de 3 lycées (ECG, ALR, LAML) du cycle supérieur ont également tenté leur chance au concours. Les modalités et conditions étaient les mêmes pour les deux catégories d’âge.

Gérer un projet de manière professionnelle

L’objectif visé dans cette action est d’inciter à la gestion d’un projet, de développer l’autonomie des élèves et de transmettre le goût du défi. Étant donné que la capacité de planifier et de gérer de façon efficace un projet fait aujourd’hui partie des compétences-clés requises dans tous les milieux professionnels, ce programme donne aux jeunes l’opportunité de développer des soft skills recherchées dans le monde du travail. Ainsi pour participer, les élèves ont dû constituer et remettre un dossier complet sur leur projet et le présenter devant un public et un jury.

Un jury épaté de la qualité des projets

Au total 4 membres du jury ont départagé les projets du cycle inférieur et supérieur. Victoria Woestmann, Allen & Overy et Laurent Derkum, Raiffeisen ont jugé les élèves du cycle inférieur. Elsa Ferreira Barbosa, UBS et Marc Marchal, Lightbulb ont départagé les élèves du cycle supérieur.

Les trois meilleures équipes ont été récompensées pour le cycle supérieur

Afin de déterminer les gagnants, le jury d’experts s’est basé sur des critères d’évaluation, tels que la créativité, l’originalité et la complexité du projet, la présentation sur scène ou encore la coopération et la communication.

Le premier prix a été décerné à l’équipe Biobagfy du Lycée Aline Mayrisch. Maurice Hoffmann, Tom Germeaux et Gregory Herbrig ont voulu diminuer l’utilisation du plastique lors des achats de fruits et de légumes et ont commercialisé des Veggie-Bags, des petits sacs 100% coton recyclé et issu de la production Fairtrade. L’équipe a été complimenté pour l’originalité et la dimension durable de son projet.

Pour cette première place, chaque membre de l’équipe pourra assister gratuitement à un concert de leur choix, offert par la Rockhal.

Le deuxième prix a été remis à l’équipe Global Issues Network du Lycée Aline Mayrisch. Lisa Schons, Soline Mambu, Bianca Harris, Lucy Reuter et Ana De Sousa Andrade voulaient soutenir le fond de solidarité de leur lycée et ont décidé d’organiser une vente de vêtements de seconde main, qu’ils ont rassemblé parmi leurs collègues au lycée. Tout le bénéfice de leur action solidaire et durable a été versé au fond de solidarité du lycée qui soutient les élèves ayant des difficultés financières. Les jeunes ont été récompensé-e-s par un bon d’achat pour un escape room.

Le troisième prix a été attribué à l’équipe Muffin aux Pommes de l’École de Commerce et de Gestion. Clémence Delrieu, Luca Ganeto, Ivan Martino, Léane Parjouet et Lara Putz ont confectionné et vendu 220 muffins faits à partir d’un ingrédient local et qui était de saison lors de leur action : la pomme ! Les jeunes pourront célébrer leur accomplissement lors d’une partie de Lasergame.

Pour le cycle inférieur c’est Lou Bodson, 12 ans, du Lycée Aline Mayrisch qui a séduit le jury avec son projet « Gebees fir de gudden Zweck ». Sa confiture fait-maison lui a rapporté plus de 1000€, qu’elle a entièrement reversé à un orphelinat en Namibie.

Lou a remporté un magnifique trophée et un jeu de société pour sa première place.