Skip to main content
Go to News

Bëssen Wëssen – Winners of the Mini-Company Final 2023

Jonk Entrepreneuren Luxembourg © Pierre Levy /

For the 2023 edition of the Mini-Entreprises Final, the 16 finalists presented their projects at Kinepolis Kirchberg on Thursday 8 June. A total of 91 teams from 24 secondary schools signed up for the programme at the start of the school year.

The national mini-company final kicked off with a sales event at the Kirchberg Shopping Centre. From 10.00 am onwards, the 16 finalist mini-companies offered their products for sale in the shopping centre and certainly succeeded in getting passers-by enthusiastic about their creations. The jury also visited the sales stands and assessed the young entrepreneurs’ ability to market their products.

At 3.30pm, an audience of over 200 gathered at Kinepolis Kirchberg to listen to the teams present their projects and describe their experiences over the year.

Minister Claude Meisch pointed out that Luxembourg needs entrepreneurs and an entrepreneurial spirit to be able to innovate. What he likes so much about the Mini-Entreprises programme, is that young people bring a fresh perspective to things and are committed to renewing them.

Minister Lex Delles was enthusiastic about the diversity of the projects, which clearly illustrate current trends and the team spirit shown by the young people. Because, at the end of the day, it’s not enough to have a good idea; it’s the execution that determines the success of an idea.

The jury members

The mini-companies were assessed by a panel made up of professionals from the world of work and representatives from the world of education.

  • Carole Retter, CEO Moskito et secrétaire générale FJD (Fédération des jeunes dirigeants d’entreprise de Luxembourg)
  • Claudine Bettendroffer, Country Leader Silversquare Luxembourg and committee member of FJD
  • Claudine Thoma, teacher at the Ecole d’Hôtellerie et de Tourisme du Luxembourg
  • Edita Demirovic, Vice-President- Luxembourg Funds Corporate Services Head, Citi
  • Eric Busch, CEO & Founder
  • Georges Krombach, Head of sales and marketing Landewyck and committee member of FJD
  • Jonas Bossau, Client Executive, Citi
  • Joy Sanchis, teacher at the Lycée Technique d’Ettelbruck
  • Laura Martin, teacher at the Lycée du Nord
  • Michel Logeling, Managing Partner, Brainplug
  • Muriel Morbé, CEO House of Training, Chambre de Commerce and committee member of FJD
  • Philippe Weisen, Senior Corporate Advisor, BIL
  • Paula Martins, Head of Client Service Team, UBS Europe SE Luxembourg Branch
  • Tom Retter, teacher at the Lënster Lycée International School
Jonk Entrepreneuren Luxembourg © Pierre Levy /

BBëssen Wëssen from the Lycée Aline Mayrisch has been voted best mini-company of the year

The “Bëssen Wëssen” team, a mini-company that produced a card game about the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, won first prize in the competition and will represent Luxembourg at the “JA European Company of the Year Competition” as part of the GEN-E festival to be held in Istanbul, Turkey from 11 to 14 July 2023.

The mini-entrepreneurs will be presenting their product, which consists of an innovative card game about the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg designed to facilitate integration into the country in a fun way. The aim is to help people discover the Luxembourg language and culture using cards that highlight the monuments, traditions, events and people of Luxembourg.

The Bëssen Wëssen team is made up of 9 students: Cherine Nothum, Julia Elgarrach, Emma Pardaens, Kim Lanners, Lynn Haupert, Mathieu Vercauteren, Véronique Olinger, Vicky Noben and Yanis Aboummaad. Sandra Thibeau, teacher, and Philippe Linster, CEO House of Startups and coach, accompanied the team throughout the year.

Jonk Entrepreneuren Luxembourg © Pierre Levy /


Second prize went to the “Beachtime” team from the Lycée Aline Mayrisch. The aim of this mini-company is to develop, produce and market innovative beach towels with various extra features.

The mini-company is composed of Xavier Reuter, Mathis Reuter, Fynn Arbogast, Alessandro Urzi, Shunit Khanal, Evan Smolen, Max Schlentz, Jeremy Majerus and Bryan Cross. Professor Tom Emeringer and Daniel Araujo, Project Advisor at the House of Entrepreneurship, accompanied the team on this adventure.

Jonk Entrepreneuren Luxembourg © Pierre Levy /

Vision Wood

Third prize went to the “Vision Wood” team from the Lycée Michel Lucius. This mini-company designed a charging station that helps keep things tidy and decorates the home beautifully. The mini-company’s second product are wooden Apple Pencil cases.

The team is formed by Lucas Da Silva, Lara Matias, Alessandro Rosa, Ben Weins, Celine Chanson, Abel Parente, Sofia Cruz Soares and Loris Wack. Their teachers Fabienne Kieffer and Fabio Martins accompanied the team throughout the school year.

The Signature Awards

  • The « Innovation and Value Creation Award » sponsored by Fédération des jeunes dirigeants d’entreprise de Luxembourg was awarded to Luxtopia from the Lycée Robert Schuman.
  • The « Financial Management Award » sponsored by Citi Foundation was awarded to Happy Pets from the Lycée de Garçons de Luxembourg.
  • The « Business Plan Award» sponsored by ArcelorMittal was awarded to Beachtime from the Lycée Aline Mayrisch.
  • The « Marketing Strategy and Campaign Award» sponsored by Cactus was awarded to MELLY’S from the l’Ecole de Commerce et de Gestion.
  • The « Work Readiness Award» sponsored by Kinepolis Luxembourg was awarded to Vision Wood from the Lycée Michel Lucius.
  • The « Social Entrepreneurship Award » sponsored by le Ministère du Travail de l’Emploi et de l’Economie sociale et solidaire was awarded to AquaCycle from the Lycée Classique de Diekirch.
  • The « Public Choice Award » sponsored by Post was awarded to Luxtopia.
Jonk Entrepreneuren Luxembourg © Pierre Levy /

JEL Alumni awarded 5 Leaderships Awards

For this 22nd edition, the Jonk Entrepreneuren Luxembourg Alumni committee conducted interviews with all the leaders of the mini-companies and presented the Leadership Award to 5 students: Matheo Reinert (Holzkäpp), Liz Paler (de Muppesnack), Mats Jung (AquaCycle), Léane Parjouet (BEELUXE), Olivier Middelkoop (MELLY’S).

The winners can choose to take part in one of the events organised by JEL Alumni, either the Startup Weekend in Leuven or the Startup Weekend in Lausanne.

The Fédération des Jeunes Dirigeants d’Entreprise de Luxembourg has also decided to reward the winners of the Alumni Leadership Award with a monetary prize.